Guide
Full-time or part-time ABA in Austin: how enrollment actually works
September 29, 2026 · Erika Davis, mom and founder
“Finding a provider” is not one step. It’s a five-step path, and the question you care about most — how many hours a week — is answered at step four, not step one. Here’s the path in order, why some programs are full-time only, and the questions to ask.
My daughter has never needed ABA — but her classmates have, and they’ve needed speech, occupational, and physical therapy alongside it at times too. That’s why Care Connect Kids covers all four: there’s so much overlap in what kids need that it never made sense to separate them. Just because I haven’t had to find ABA for her doesn’t mean I can’t help other parents find what they need.
What I hear in parent groups, over and over, is someone asking for a recommendation for ABA twice a week because they don’t want to do 40 hours a week — and sometimes the opposite: a family that does want the full-time option and can’t find a place without a long wait. It’s the exact same problem I’ve faced, numerous times, in a different therapy.
If you’ve been told your child would benefit from ABA, the first surprise is that “finding a provider” is not one step. It’s a path — a diagnosis and a signed referral from your child’s doctor, then the program’s intake and benefits check, then a BCBA’s assessment, then a treatment plan, then authorization — and the question most parents care about most, how many hours a week, doesn’t get answered until the treatment plan. The second surprise is that some programs will only take your child for a full-time schedule, and nobody tells you that until you’re deep in the path.
This guide walks the path in order, explains the full-time-versus-part-time decision honestly from both sides, and gives you the questions to ask at each step. What ABA is, how Austin families pay for it, and whether center-based or in-home fits your child are on our ABA in Austin page; this guide picks up where that leaves off.
Getting assessed: three different assessments, three different people
“Assessment” means three different things in this journey, and parents are routinely sent to the wrong one.
- The diagnostic evaluation answers “does my child have autism (or another condition)?” Who can do it depends on who’s paying: for Texas Medicaid’s ABA benefit, the diagnosis has to come from a developmental pediatrician, a neurologist, a psychiatrist, a licensed psychologist, or a diagnostic team led by a physician, nurse practitioner, or physician assistant — a general pediatrician’s diagnosis alone doesn’t qualify. Private plans keep their own lists, so ask the program which evaluators your plan accepts. This is the one insurers and most programs need before ABA, and it can carry a long wait.
- The ABA assessment answers “what should this child’s program work on, and how much?” It’s done by a BCBA at the program, after intake and the benefits check — step three of the path below. It is not a diagnosis and can’t substitute for one.
- The school evaluation answers “does this child qualify for special-education services?” It’s done by your school district (Texas calls the report an FIE), it’s free, and you can request it in writing at any time from age three. It can identify autism as an educational category — but it’s not a medical diagnosis, and insurers generally don’t accept it as one. Many families run it alongside the medical evaluation; our decoder covers IEP, 504, ARD, and FIE.
How to get the diagnostic evaluation:
- Start with your pediatrician. Texas requires the health plans it regulates to cover autism screening at the 18- and 24-month visits, Medicaid checkups include it, and the American Academy of Pediatrics recommends it for every child, so most pediatricians do it. If you have concerns at any age, say so at any visit and ask for a referral to a diagnostic evaluation. Ask them where they refer — the referral is the door, but don’t expect them to know each place’s wait or whether it takes your insurance; most pediatricians don’t track either, so you’ll check both with each evaluator yourself (step 3). And ask for the second document you’ll need: a signed referral (a prescription) for ABA. Programs will want the diagnosis report and that referral, and for Medicaid the referral has to be in hand before the assessment can even be authorized.
- Ask for more than one referral. Children’s hospital developmental clinics, private developmental pediatricians, and licensed psychologists who do autism evaluations are all valid doors, and their waits differ. Get on more than one list, the same way you would for therapy.
- Ask each evaluator four things: Do you take our insurance for the evaluation (it’s often billed differently from therapy)? How long is the wait? What does the evaluation include, and how many visits? Will the report include the diagnosis code and the recommendations a program will need?
- Under three? Texas ECI can evaluate for developmental delay and start services without a medical diagnosis — evaluation and service coordination are free for every family. ECI doesn’t diagnose autism, so ask your service coordinator about a diagnostic referral. ECI is the first call regardless; our NICU-to-home and ECI age-3 guides cover it.
- Some ABA programs have diagnosing clinicians in-house or partner with one. Worth asking at intake — it can collapse two waits into one. It’s still a medical evaluation by a qualified diagnoser, not the BCBA’s assessment.
The diagnostic wait is the part of this path most families can’t shorten much. What you can do is start it early, run it in parallel with everything else — the school evaluation, ECI, getting on ABA program lists — and have the report ready the day a program calls.
The enrollment path, step by step
Programs differ in the details, but the order is more consistent than it feels from the inside — and it starts with paperwork, not with a clinician:
- The diagnosis and the referral — two documents, not one. ABA is most often recommended for children with an autism diagnosis, and insurers generally require a documented diagnosis before they’ll authorize it — plus a signed referral or prescription for ABA from your child’s doctor, which is a separate piece of paper. If your child has been evaluated and the evaluator recommended ABA, ask the pediatrician for the referral and you have what you need to start calling. If the diagnosis is still pending, programs differ: some ask for the report at first contact, some will start intake while it’s pending, and some can do the evaluation in-house. Ask which.
- Intake and the benefits check — this comes first, at every program we could find. The provider’s first real conversation with you: your child’s age, diagnosis, your insurance, your schedule, your goals. Two things happen here that you should ask about directly: a benefits check (the provider verifies what your plan covers and whether authorization is required — ask what they found), and the availability question — is there room for a new client now, and if not, is the wait for the assessment or for the start of therapy? Those are different waits, and programs often have one without the other. For Texas Medicaid families there’s an extra step here: the program has to get the assessment itself authorized — using the diagnosis report and the signed referral — before the BCBA can see your child.
- The BCBA assessment. A BCBA evaluates your child — through observation, standardized skill inventories (you may see names like VB-MAPP or ABLLS-R on the report), and often an assessment of the specific behaviors you’re worried about. Some programs run this at the same visit they call “intake,” which is why the two can feel like one step — but the benefits check and paperwork still came first. This is where the program learns your child; it’s also where you learn the program. Ask how long the assessment takes, whether you’re in the room, and when you’ll see the written results.
- The treatment plan — and the hours. The BCBA writes goals and recommends a weekly hours number. This is the step the whole full-time-versus-part-time question lives in (next section). Ask the BCBA to walk you through why that number for your child — the explain-what-why-pivot test applies here more than anywhere.
- Authorization, then a start date. The plan goes to your insurer (or Medicaid health plan, or the state program) for prior authorization; the authorized hours may differ from the recommended ones. Then scheduling: matching your child with a technician and a slot. Ask what happens if authorization comes back lower than the recommendation, and how re-authorization works down the line — plans are reviewed and renewed on a cycle, and each renewal is a chance for the hours to change.
The honest note on timing: every step can carry a wait, and they add up. There’s no typical total — it depends on your diagnosis timeline, your plan’s authorization process, and the program’s capacity — but you can shorten the parts you control: get on more than one program’s list (our waitlist guide covers how), ask each program which wait they mean, and have the diagnosis report and insurance card ready at intake.
Full-time or part-time: what the words mean
You’ll hear comprehensive and focused. Published practice guidelines in the field describe comprehensive programs as many hours a week across many skill areas, typically for younger children, and focused programs as fewer hours aimed at a smaller set of goals. Your BCBA’s recommendation will land somewhere on that spectrum, and the number should be tied to your child’s goals — not to a program’s default.
Part-time exists. Focused programs, after-school hours, in-home models built around a few sessions a week, and programs designed for school-age kids all run on fewer hours. What’s true is that part-time ABA is harder to find than full-time in many markets, and that some programs don’t offer it at all. On Care Connect Kids, clinics can state whether they run comprehensive (full-time) programs, focused (part-time) programs, or both, and you can filter ABA clinics by that. Only clinics that have stated it show up under the filter; a clinic that hasn’t will say “program hours not stated — ask the clinic,” which is your cue to ask. Why some don’t offer part-time at all is the next section.
Why some programs are full-time only
There are two honest answers, and you deserve to know which one you’re hearing.
The clinical answer: many BCBAs believe, and cite research to support, that young children with significant needs do best with intensive early intervention — many hours a week for a period of years. A program built on that belief will recommend full-time hours for most young clients because that’s its clinical model, and it may decline part-time clients because it doesn’t think it can deliver results that way.
The operational answer: a center-based program schedules technicians against client hours. A full-time client fills a technician’s week; a part-time client leaves gaps that are hard to fill. Some programs solve this by simply not offering part-time. (One thing worth knowing: a program can decline a part-time client for scheduling reasons, but a Medicaid treatment plan’s hours can’t be set for the program’s convenience — Texas Medicaid’s own rules say frequency has to match the child’s clinical needs, not the provider’s or the parents’ convenience.)
Neither answer is wrong. But they lead to different questions. If a program is full-time only for clinical reasons, ask what outcomes they’ve seen and how they measure them, and ask whether your child fits the population that model was built for. If it’s full-time only for operational reasons, ask whether a focused program elsewhere would serve your child’s actual goals — and remember the hours recommendation is the BCBA’s, but the decision to enroll is yours.
The “full-time or nothing” conversation after you’ve already started is its own situation. Families describe programs that, after a year or more at part-time hours, ask them to move to full-time or leave. If that happens: ask for the clinical reasoning in writing, ask whether a focused plan is possible with a different technician schedule, and — if the answer is no — treat it as a provider change, not a failure. Your child’s assessment data and treatment history go with you. Our choosing-a-clinic guide covers switching.
ABA and school at the same time
This is the question behind most part-time requests, and the rules are less flexible than families expect.
- Public school hours are usually off-limits for private ABA — and it’s the district’s call. Texas has no law requiring a public school to let a private program’s technician onto campus, so whether your child’s school allows it is the district’s decision, and many don’t. Coverage differs too: Texas Medicaid doesn’t pay for a technician to act as a classroom shadow or aide, or for ABA aimed at academic goals, and private plans differ on whether they pay for ABA delivered at school — ask your plan. School-based support comes through the IEP instead — a separate system with its own evaluation (the decoder covers IEP, 504, and ARD). One thing that is settled in Texas law: an absence for an ABA, speech, or OT appointment counts as an excused temporary absence, so a therapy appointment during the school day is not truancy. Ask both the school and the program how they coordinate.
- Some programs will schedule around a half-day preschool. Half-day preschool plus ABA the other half — center-based or in-home — is a schedule some programs support for younger children. Ask directly whether the program will work around a preschool day, and whether their in-home option (if they have one) changes the answer.
- Private schools and daycares sometimes allow a technician on site. It’s their call, and the program’s; ask both.
- School breaks, holidays, and weekends are their own gap. Sessions often don’t run when the program is closed, and a long break can undo momentum. Some programs offer parent training — coaching you to carry parts of the plan at home — built for exactly those stretches. Ask whether it’s part of the plan, how it’s scheduled, and whether the program runs any sessions over breaks.
- After-school slots are often the hardest to get. If your child is in school full-time and you need ABA after 3 p.m., say so at intake and get on the list for that slot specifically. The kindergarten transition guide covers the morning-versus-afternoon trade for school-age kids.
Older kids and program shape
Many programs are built around young children, and some cap ages. For an eight-year-old, a tween, or a teen, the questions shift: Does the program serve this age at all? What does a focused plan look like for executive function, daily-living skills, or social goals? Is the technician experienced with older kids? Our teens and older kids guide covers the age cliffs across every therapy, including where ABA programs tend to stop.
The questions, all in one place
At intake:
- Is the wait for the assessment, or for the start of therapy?
- What did the benefits check find — is authorization required, and is there a limit?
- Do you offer focused (part-time) plans, and for which ages?
- Will you work around a preschool or school day? In-home, center, or both?
At the plan:
- Why this number of hours for my child?
- How is this program’s approach described — and what happens when my child is distressed or refuses? (The specialty decoder explains assent-based, DTT, NET, and the rest.)
- What does parent training look like — does it cover weekends and school breaks — and how much direct BCBA time will my child get?
At authorization:
- What if the insurer authorizes fewer hours than you recommended?
- How often is the plan re-authorized, and what changes it?
Finding ABA in Central Texas
Care Connect Kids shows the speech, OT, PT, and ABA clinics in your area in one place. For ABA, filter by program hours — comprehensive (full-time), focused (part-time), or both — where a clinic has stated it; a clinic that hasn’t says “not stated — ask the clinic,” because we won’t guess. Filter by insurance — for verified clinics that’s the clinic’s own list; for public listings it’s what the clinic publishes, marked “based on public info, confirm with the provider.” See availability where a clinic has joined and stated it, and search by location — including the in-home programs whose coverage areas reach you.
It’s free for families. Always. Care Connect Kids will find matches and send your inquiry to participating clinics for you. We never ask for a diagnosis or medical details — only what’s needed to match.
See what’s near you: check your zip code, start with the ABA in Austin page, or the Austin metro page.
Common questions
How do I enroll my child in ABA therapy in Austin?
The path has five pieces, in this order: a documented diagnosis plus a signed referral for ABA from your child’s doctor; the program’s intake and benefits check (for Texas Medicaid, this includes getting the assessment itself authorized); a BCBA assessment; a treatment plan with a recommended number of hours; and insurance or program authorization followed by scheduling. Each step can carry a wait, so get on more than one program’s list and ask each one whether the wait is for the assessment or for the start of therapy.
How do I get my child assessed for autism in Texas?
Start with your pediatrician: Texas requires the health plans it regulates to cover autism screening at the 18- and 24-month visits, Medicaid checkups include it, the American Academy of Pediatrics recommends it for every child, and you can raise concerns at any visit and ask for a referral to a diagnostic evaluation. Ask for more than one referral — children’s hospital developmental clinics, developmental pediatricians, and licensed psychologists who do autism evaluations all have different waits — and get on more than one list. For a child under three, Texas ECI can evaluate for developmental delay and begin services without a medical diagnosis. A school district evaluation is a separate, free process that determines special-education eligibility, not a medical diagnosis.
Who can diagnose autism?
It depends on who is paying, so ask the program which evaluators your plan accepts. For Texas Medicaid’s ABA benefit, the diagnosis must come from a developmental pediatrician, a neurologist, a psychiatrist, a licensed psychologist, or a diagnostic team led by a physician, nurse practitioner, or physician assistant; a general pediatrician’s diagnosis alone does not qualify. Private plans keep their own lists. This diagnostic evaluation is different from the ABA assessment, which a BCBA does at the program after intake to build the treatment plan, and from the school district’s evaluation, which decides special-education eligibility and is not a medical diagnosis.
What happens in an ABA assessment?
A Board Certified Behavior Analyst evaluates your child through observation, standardized skill inventories, and often an assessment of specific behaviors, then writes a treatment plan with goals and a recommended weekly hours number. Ask how long it takes, whether you are in the room, and when you will see the written results.
Can ABA therapy be part-time?
Yes. Focused programs, after-school hours, and in-home models built around a few sessions a week all exist, and published practice guidelines describe focused programs as a recognized model. Part-time ABA is harder to find than full-time in many markets, and some programs are full-time only, for clinical or operational reasons. Ask at intake whether a program offers focused plans and for which ages — or filter for it first: on Care Connect Kids, ABA clinics that have stated they run focused (part-time) programs can be filtered for, and the ones that haven’t stated it say so.
Why do some ABA programs require full-time hours?
Two reasons, and it is fair to ask which one applies. Clinically, many BCBAs believe young children with significant needs do best with intensive early intervention. Operationally, a full-time client fills a technician’s schedule while a part-time client leaves gaps that are hard to fill. Neither is wrong, but the hours recommendation should be tied to your child’s goals, and the decision to enroll is yours.
Can my child do ABA and go to school at the same time?
Often, but not usually during public-school hours. Texas has no law requiring a public school to let a private program’s technician onto campus, so it is the district’s decision. Texas Medicaid does not pay for a technician to act as a classroom shadow or aide, and private plans differ on whether they cover ABA delivered at school, so ask your plan. School-based support comes through the IEP. Some programs will schedule around a half-day preschool, and after-school ABA slots exist but are often the hardest to get. One settled point: under Texas law, an absence for an ABA, speech, or OT appointment is an excused temporary absence.
How long does it take to start ABA after a diagnosis?
There is no typical total. It depends on the program’s capacity, your insurer’s authorization process, and how quickly the assessment can be scheduled. The parts you control are getting on more than one list, having the diagnosis report and insurance card ready at intake, and asking each program which wait they mean.
More parent guides: browse all guides.